top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritney Cabuhat

Should you study abroad at Seoul National University? (SNU Registering Tips and Recommendations)

One thing I do want to note beforehand, is that I may only recommend studying abroad to Seoul National University if you have mostly just business electives or just general requirement electives to do. During registering, I had come to find out only 30 business English taught courses were available in the Fall 2022 semester, and some were the same courses but just taught by different professors which shortened my selection even more. I feel that maybe if you are just starting at Shidler having to do the beginning core courses, it may still work since they did have those available and by multiple professors, such equivalencies to BUS 315, BUS 311, etc. Since I had already completed those, the business courses I registered for were just filling in my elective requirement slots for UH.

However, I am a senior, and I did have specific required business courses I needed to take for graduation. Since SNU did not have any equivalent courses for them, it did set me a little behind. Now, I have to take two business courses during the summer semester, though I was originally going to be done by the spring semester if I had not studied abroad. It is something to keep in mind, especially if you need specific courses done by certain times. I feel that other South Korea universities may have more selection. There was not much of a way for me to figure out SNU’s course selection beforehand, since their confirmed courses for the semester was only finalized 2 weeks before registration in August (by then, it has been months long since the study abroad application and results). I was able to view a PDF all courses taught at SNU and thought I had hope, but again, availability is not finalized until it is close to the time of course registering.

All of the courses I took were also ones that I had to request to check for equivalency. There is a list of SNU courses that are already approved for equivalency available on Shidler's website. You would get emailed the course equivalency form or you can ask your study abroad advisor for the form if anything. It is good to get this done as soon as the school’s course availability gets finalized so that you can ensure your credits will go through when abroad before actually going there. Also the earlier you get it done, the better chance you can change your abroad courses to ones actually equivalent to UH courses if needed.

As for registering for the courses, SNU did email me a pdf file of detailed and understandable instructions beforehand, and so they will do the same for you too. If I had any further questions, I just emailed them and they helped. It is quite similar to UH’s way of registering being that you can draft your schedule and registering time goes by class standing. However, for exchange students we are one of the later times. Another thing to keep in mind is that we exchange students are considered freshmans in their system. Though in their page, it says juniors and seniors can take graduate courses, we are considered first year and first semester in their system, so we are only able to take undergraduate courses. You are able to filter your search to only English taught courses, or even to courses in certain departments. One difference was that you would have to register for each course one by one, so when registering, it is good to prioritize what is important to you or the ones with the most interest (you will get to see how many people are interested in the course as well).


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Must Know Tips! (for pre-departure and while abroad)

TIPS before departure (other than getting a visa and passport) Come with a plan/bucket list Know what you should do while you’re there Try things that aren’t available in Hawaii/U.S. Get plug adapters

Culture/Country Shocks in South Korea (to keep in mind)

Personal space Be aware that people and cars are going to be very very close to you There is way more people always outside compared to Hawaii Especially during rush hours when people go to work and g

bottom of page